Escape everyday life.....
Gasthaus Sonne
deutsche Version
english Version

History

Maximilian Walter (Mayor of Stegen from 1909-1936) wrote the following about the Gasthaus Sonne in his history of the Stegen community:


Oberbirken House No. 36
The first house of this estate was built in 1727 on land belonging to the local manor. The annual land rental fee of 11 guilders, 5 kreutzer was paid off by a sum of 181 guilders, 30 kreutzer in 1851/52.

The first documented owners are Jakob Heizler and Barbara Maier in the years 1806-1848. The property was transfered to their son, Philipp Heizler, in around 1848. He married Christina Bertberger and then died on 29th June 1880. His wife died on 24th December 1889. In 1856 he bought an acre of meadow – the upper Mönchmatte – for 500 guilders and in 1863 an additional acre – the lower Mönchmatte – for 500 guilders. On 20th September 1876 this property on the border to the Rebmann estate burned down completely
Newspaper cutting from 1876
and all animals and inventory (with the exception of a horse which was able to be rescued) fell victim to the fire.

As a result Philipp Heizler built a new living and commercial building in 1878 on the estate road and set it up to be an inn, together with the "Sonne" sign. After his death, the property was inherited by his widow and children. After the death of the mother, her children signed over the estate to her brother, Josef Heizler, born on 9th December 1853 for 10,546 marks. Josef Heizler married Agatha Klingele (born 7th January 1864) on 18th March 1890 and died on 4th August 1912.

As a result of the division of the estate in December 1919 the son, Josef Heizler, born on 10th March 1895, received the complete real estate and contents within the boundaries of Stegen, Eschenbach and Stegen for 23,000 marks. He married Philippina Rombach, born on 3rd December 1898, on 26th May 1920. Eight sons resulted from this marriage. One of these is Adolf Heizler.

The Gasthaus Sonne in the 1950s

In April 1959 Adolf Heizler took over the farm from his parents, together with his wife, Frida. They transformed it into an inn with small menu and an agricultural business. However, in 1977 the Heizler couple closed their farming business in order to concentrate on gastronomy. The old stable was then renovated into a second restaurant area and additional bedrooms were created. In 1983 the guesthouse was finally added onto the building.

In January 1987 Klaus Heizler took over the Gasthaus Sonne from his parents. He has been cooking in the family restaurant since 1981, when it was still run by his parents, and has continually developed the menu ever since.

Meanwhile Klaus Heizler and his wife Regina have been running the Gasthaus Sonne in Stegen for over 25years. And an end to the tradition should not be feared: the next generation is already prepared.
The Gasthaus Sonne today

den Alltag vergessen.....
Gasthaus Sonne
deutsche Version
english Version

Vergangenheit

Maximilian Walter (Bürgermeister von Stegen von 1909-1936) schrieb in seiner Geschichte der Gemeinde Stegen über das Gasthaus Sonne:


Oberbirken Haus No. 36
Das erste Haus dieses Anwesens ist im Jahre 1727 auf grundherrschaftlichem Boden erbaut worden. Der Bodenzins von jährlich 11 fl. 5 kr. ist in den Jahren 1851/52 mit 181 fl. 30 kr. abgelöst worden.

Als erste Eigentümer sind in den Jahren 1806 - 1848 Jakob Heizler und Barbara Maier urkundlich nachweisbar. Von diesen ging das Anwesen etwa 1848 auf deren Sohn Philipp Heizler über. Derselbe verehelichte sich mit Christina Bertberger und starb am 29. Juni 1880, seine Ehefrau am 24. Dezember 1889. Er kaufte im Jahr 1856 einen Morgen Wiese - die obere Mönchmatte - für 500 Gulden und im Jahr 1863 einen weiteren Morgen - die untere Mönchmatte - für 500 fl. Am 20. September 1876 brannte dieses an der Rebmannschen Eigentumsgrenze stehende Anwesen vollständig nieder,
Zeitungsausschnitt von 1876
wobei das ganze lebende und tote Inventar mit Ausnahme von einem Pferd, welches gerettet wurde, dem Feuer zum Opfer fiel.

Philipp Heizler erbaute sodann im Jahr 1878 ein neues Wohn- und Ökonomiegebäude an der Ortsstraße und richtete dasselbe zu einer Gastwirtschaft mit dem Schild zur Sonne ein. Nach dem Tode desselben fiel das Anwesen der Witwe und den Kindern zu. Nach dem Tode der Mutter berließen die Kinder in der Teilungsverhandlung vom 23. März 1890 das Gut ihrem Bruder Josef Heizler, geb. am 9. Dezember 1853, für 10.546 Mark. Josef Heizler heiratete am 18. März 1890 Agatha Klingele, geb. am 7. Januar 1864, und starb am 4. August 1912.

Auf Grund von Erbteilung im Dezember 1919 erhielt der Sohn Josef Heizler geb. am 10. März 1895 sämtliche auf den Gemarkungen Stegen, Eschbach und Zarten gelegenen Liegenschaften und Fahrnisse für 23.000 Mark. Er verehelichte sich am 26. Mai 1920 mit Philippina Rombach geb. am 3. Dezember 1898. Aus dieser Ehe gingen acht Söhne hervor. Einer von ihnen ist Adolf Heizler

Das Gasthaus Sonne in den 1950er Jahren

Im April 1959 übernimmt Adolf Heizler mit seiner Frau Frida den Bauernhof seiner Eltern, der aus einer Wirtsstube mit kleiner Karte und dem landwirtschaftlichem Betrieb besteht. 1977 gibt das Ehepaar Heizler aber die Landwirtschaft auf und konzentriert sich auf die Gastronomie. Zu diesem Zweck wird der alte Stall zur zweiten Gaststube ausgebaut und es entstehen mehrere Gästezimmer. Im Jahr 1983 wird schließlich das Gästehaus angebaut.

Im Januar 1987 übernimmt Klaus Heizler das Gasthaus Sonne von seinen Eltern. Bereits seit 1981 kocht er im elterlichen Betrieb und erweitert dabei kontinuierlich die Speisekarte.

Mittlerweile seit über 25 Jahren führt Klaus Heizler mit seiner Frau Regina Heizler nun schon das Gasthaus Sonne in Stegen. Und ein Ende der Tradition ist nicht zu befürchten: Die nächste Generation steht schon bereit.
Das Gasthaus Sonne heute